Back to Welcome to Greenvale | Planet Redwood

It is currently Sat May 18, 2013 4:06 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: wow there's another fan site...kinda
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 12:21 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:39 am
Posts: 326
Location: Greenvale
And they've been to my site cause I see some of my site text and graphics...lol

http://francisyorkmorgan.webs.com

_________________
My Websites!
Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wow there's another fan site...kinda
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 1:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:00 pm
Posts: 46
Its either the dude from the Giant Bomb forums or that site owner ripped him off as well, that atrocious and wonderful" article was posted on Giant Bomb. Animagees got permission to put it on his site with credits.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wow there's another fan site...kinda
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:27 pm 
Offline
Community Partner
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:28 pm
Posts: 220
Location: In a dark, red place...
Yeah, he's everywhere. I'd post his real name but I'm afraid he might track me down... :? And I did notice how he copy-pasted the article that I'm still planning, someday, to put on the site (it's not the Giant Bomb guy who originally wrote it, the owner of this "fansite" is a completely different dude). Also I'm pretty sure he got it hosted on Webs because he saw my crappy url (which I will probably never change because I can't afford to spend money on a domain name yet) and decided to do the same thing. Pretty much all the stuff on there is taken from other sources.

It's just kind of funny. I don't think he understands... certain... concepts... about plagiarism... or about giving out personal information to strangers on the Internet. I did some digging and, well, it's probably best to just ignore him. He Twitters SWERY a lot. I'm not sure if he knows what he's saying half the time.

_________________
Image That other DP fansite...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wow there's another fan site...kinda
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:39 am
Posts: 326
Location: Greenvale
Yeah I was all excited when I saw there was another page but got super bummed when I saw my own text and graphics :( I assume his name is Billy since it's everywhere on the site.

At least I know why the person from Minneapolis, Minnesota (according to my stat counter) visits each and every page of my site everyday.
:cookie:

_________________
My Websites!
Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wow there's another fan site...kinda
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:28 pm 
Offline
Community Partner
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:28 pm
Posts: 220
Location: In a dark, red place...
Whitney wrote:
At least I know why the person from Minneapolis, Minnesota (according to my stat counter) visits each and every page of my site everyday.
:cookie:

Sigh... Yup. :grouch:

_________________
Image That other DP fansite...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wow there's another fan site...kinda
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 12:24 pm
Posts: 16
Location: New York City
Is there perhaps a way you can get in contact with him? I don't know the complete story about said person but maybe you should let him know that if he is using your graphics, they should at least credit them?

Pffff lame suggestion is lame but it sucks when the time and effort you put into these graphics gets snagged without any credit. :<

_________________
LivejournalTwitter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wow there's another fan site...kinda
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 10:00 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:39 am
Posts: 326
Location: Greenvale
I said something in his website thread over on giantbomb (that's how I found it) and it was soon after locked.

http://www.giantbomb.com/forums/off-top ... ou/448241/

The guy then went onto my giantball wall and said:

Quote:
http://www.giantbomb.com/deadly-premonition/61-29212/ i took all the cody and pasted to my to Fansite i didnt take anything from the site that u had York page too


I responded

Quote:
On your site there are graphics I personally made from separate screen shots for my character page like this one: http://greenvale.shshatteredmemories.co ... characters /zach.jpg Your trading card information also matched perfectly with the trading card text I have on my site :( it even has the same disclaimer: "Below is a list of the entire Deadly Premonition trading cards with their location, picture and description. WARNING if you have not completed the ...


he then wrote on my wall again

Quote:
i tooked the traing crad from other website on google im so sorry is same but i did beat the whole game already Sorry traing card on googles as well :(


Like Animagess said before I don't think it's worth it to pursue it further. He doesn't seem to know english very well I doubt many people would go to his site in the end...the information is obviously copied and pasted with no sort of formatting:

http://francisyorkmorgan.webs.com/

_________________
My Websites!
Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wow there's another fan site...kinda
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 8:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:56 pm
Posts: 49
Sucks he stole your graphics, looks like you worked really hard on them...
But, all this means is that there's more Deadly Premonition fans! :)

_________________
Deadly Premonition fan-game in the works! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wow there's another fan site...kinda
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:56 pm
Posts: 49
I also have a Deadly Premonition fan-site... called "FK...In the Coffee", but, as mentioned in the "Welcome to Greenvale" thread, the site is dead, or, well, was never alive...
Feel free to remove it from the "Greenvale Affiliates", Whitney.

_________________
Deadly Premonition fan-game in the works! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wow there's another fan site...kinda
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:39 am
Posts: 326
Location: Greenvale
You aren't going to continue with it? :(

_________________
My Websites!
Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

|